top of page

WELCOME

Follow the adventure of a French volunteer in Denmark!

I'm Marine, a 24 years old French girl, and in this blog I'm inviting you to follow me during this year of crazy experiences in Denmark!

75640807_815698395529867_163681802798497
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2

Folkets Møde: Together, together, together everyone!

Updated: May 22, 2020

Even if most of this blog is mainly meant to share with the world (at least!) what happens during my free time in Denmark, I also happen to work during this volunteering mission!


First things first, it will be hard telling anything about my volunteering mission without introducing my partner in crime here in Denmark. As I mentioned in my arrival article, for this mission, I am paired up with Maria. Against all odds, (French/Portuguese: we both thought we would hate each other) she is the best co-worker you can ask for! Sometimes we even tend to forget that we are actually working, but, by some miracle, we manage to do the job together!

(Until 24/06/2020, Portugal-France during the Euro Cup, then I’m not sure we will be able to work together anymore…)


For the first couple months, our main mission was to help out the team of the Folkets Møde festival. Briefly, Folkets Møde is a festival celebrating all communities. For two days, all volunteers, activists, organizations, companies, politicians, and so on, meet to celebrate, debate and sharing the different communities for more people to join.


For the preparation of this festival, we helped the amazing Carla (miss you Savior!) with the communication. First step, translating and updating the Folkets Mode website; and trust me, when you don’t speak Danish it’s a real adventure! We also prepared a survey to reach out internationals in Aarhus City Welcome, took over the Folkets Møde social media, as you can see in the video right under, and even worked on some graphism and video editing for me!


Finally, on the 27th and 28th of September, the celebration started! We spent two days running around, taking a lot of pictures and videos for social media (RIP amazing vox pop video lost forever because of GDPR) and trying the many activities proposed by the co-creators of this event! It was much fun and very exhausting, but totally worst it! (Now, you can admire me trying some rollerski).

Only two sad things happened: The rain, which somehow is not a big surprise in Denmark, and my knee decided to give up on me on the first day. But, what is life without a challenge?




Home: Instagram
bottom of page